Cristiano Ronaldo is set to claim his fifth Ballon d’Or at the 62nd edition later today, drawing him level with long-term rival Lionel Messi.

The ceremony gets underway in Paris, with the winner expected to be confirmed later this evening. Follow live updates below:

Live Updates

Ballon d’Or – last 10 winners

2016 – Cristiano Ronaldo

2015 – Lionel Messi

2014 – Cristiano Ronaldo

2013 – Cristiano Ronaldo

2012 – Lionel Messi

2011 – Lionel Messi

2010 – Lionel Messi

2009 – Lionel Messi

2008 – Cristiano Ronaldo

2007 – Kaka


Brazilian playmaker Kaka was the last player other than Ronaldo and Messi to win the award


When can we expect to find out this year’s winner?

The ceremony in Paris begins at 7pm local time (6pm UK time) and the winner is expected to be announced 45 minutes later.

Ballon d’Or 2017 – the 30 contenders

Cristiano Ronaldo is the overwhelming favourite to win this year’s prize but there are 29 other players on the shortlist.


Here’s a full list of the players in contention to claim football’s most prestigious individual honour:



  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  • Edinson Cavani (PSG)
  • Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
  • Kevin de Bruyne (Man City)
  • David de Gea (Man Utd)
  • Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
  • Edin Dzeko (Roma)
  • Radamel Falcao (Monaco)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  • Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
  • Isco (Real Madrid)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid)
  • Kylian Mbappé (PSG)
  • Dries Mertens (Napoli)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Neymar (PSG)
  • Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  • Luis Suárez (Barcelona)

Hello and welcome to The Independent‘s coverage of tonight’s Ballon d’Or ceremony in Paris!

[This blog starts at 4.00pm]

Please allow a moment for the blog to load.

When will the 2017 Ballon d’Or be announced?

The winner of the prestigious award will be announced on Thursday 7 December at 6.45pm.

Can I watch the ceremony?

Unfortunately not. But you can follow live updates from the blog above.

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or is an annual award presented by the magazine France Football to the best player of the year, as voted by sports journalists. The award has been running since 1956 making it one of the most prestigious individual accolades out there. Initially for European players, the honour went global in 2007.

Between 2010 and 2015 it was merged with Fifa’s own World Player of the Year award. That agreement ended in 2016, however, with the governing body reintroducing its own accolade once again – ‘The Best’ Fifa Men’s Player.


Cristiano Ronaldo has enjoyed another impressive year in his glittering career (Getty)

Who is the favourite?

Ronaldo is once again the favourite to claim the award, having notably helped lead Real Madrid to a historic Champions League title earlier this year. Messi follows in second with the usual suspects also among the mix.

The full shortlist:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Karim Benzema, Leonardo Bonucci, Gianluigi Buffon, Edinson Cavani, Philippe Coutinho, Kevin De Bruyne, David de Gea, Paulo Dybala, Edin Dzeko, Radamel Falcao, Antoine Griezmann, Eden Hazard, Mats Hummels, Isco, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kante, Toni Kroos, Robert Lewandowski, Sadio Mane, Marcelo, Kylian Mbappe, Dries Mertens, Lionel Messi, Luka Modric, Neymar, Jan Oblak, Sergio Ramos, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here